Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to footer


The City of Washington is a City of the third class duly organized under Missouri State laws, with a Council/Administrator form of government.  The Council consists of eight (8) members and a Mayor that are city selected on a non-partisan basis.  The City Administrator is appointed by the Council and is responsible for day-to-day operations of the City.

The City provides its citizens with typical services, such as street maintenance and construction, police and fire protection, code enforcement, engineering and planning, facilities inspections and parks and recreation.  These services are financed from general revenues of the City.  The City provides water, sewer, and sanitation services derived from revenues from user fees.  Ameren Missouri provides the City with electricity and Spire Energy provides gas service.  The Missouri Public Service Commission regulates these companies.

The City of Washington is committed to its citizens and community.  Washington takes pride in its historic roots and foundation on which it is established.  The City will always strive to provide its residents with high quality, cost effective, and prudent services and facilities and will be  proactive in planning and preparing for future needs.

The City of Washington will accomplish this mission by providing and promoting:
•Quality Public Utilities and Services
•Quality Emergency Services and Emergency Preparedness
•Economic Development activities and opportunities
•Parks and Recreational activities and opportunities
•Community, Volunteerism, Civic Involvement, and Social Services