	MISSOURI STATE HIGHWAY PATROL  REQUEST FOR CRIMINAL RECORD CHECK  SHP-158J 02/07						
PLEASE PRINT	OR TYPE.						
GENERAL INFO	RMATION						
NAME	LAST	FIRST			MIDDLE	JR / SR	
MAIDEN / ALIAS	LAST	FIRST			MIDDLE	JR / SR	
SEX FEMALE	DATE OF BIRTH (MM/DD/YYYY)	SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER		RACE BLACK	WHITE INDIAN ASIAN	OTHER	
ADDRESS	STREET - P.O. BOX		CITY	BLACK [	STATE STATE	ZIP CODE	
COMPLETE TH	IS SECTION FOR MAN	DATED RECORD C	CHECK	S ONLY -	SECTION B MUST BE C	OMPLETED	
NAME OF AGENCY MANE	DATING SEARCH				STATUTE NUMBER (STATE OR F	EDERAL)	
NAME OF REQUESTING ENTITY					TELEPHONE NUMBER		
ADDRESS	STREET - P.O. BOX		CITY		STATE	ZIP CODE	
TYPE OF RECO	ORD CHECK - PROCES		OD OF	PAYMEN	(per Sections 43.527 and 4	13.530, RSMo.)	
SECTION A - REGULAR  Requested for personal or private business use.  \$10.00 NAME SEARCH  Based on NAME, DATE OF BIRTH, AND SOCIAL			Mandated by any provision of state or federal statute. Must cite the statute mandating the search and be submitted directly to the Missouri State Highway Patrol Criminal Records Division.				
SECURITY NUMBER. Response will be returned with all open records and records of conviction.  \$20.00 FINGERPRINT SEARCH  Based on APPLICANT FINGERPRINT CARD. Response will be returned with complete records to the individual or qualifying entity.  Fee is payable either by check or money order (NO CASH) to "State of Missouri, Criminal Record System Fund."			<ul> <li>         \$5.00 NAME SEARCH         Based on NAME, DATE OF BIRTH, AND SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER. Response will be returned with all open records and records of conviction.     </li> <li>         \$14.00 FINGERPRINT SEARCH         Based on APPLICANT FINGERPRINT CARD. Must cite the statute mandating the search in "Reason Fingerprinted" block applicant fingerprint card.         Response will be returned to the qualifying entity with complete records of arrest on file.     </li> <li>         Fee is payable either by check or money order     </li> </ul>				
	SEND REPLY TO the request and fee to:	Missouri Sta	(I S	NO CÁSH) ystem Fund	to "State of Missouri, Crimin d."		

SEND REPLY TO (Print or type your mailing label below.)

Telephone (include area code)	

## Criminal Records and Identification Division General Information

The Missouri Criminal Records Repository (MCRR), collects, maintains, and disseminates Criminal History Record Information (CHRI) as defined by 43.500 and 589.400 RSMo.

Criminal History Record Information is information collected by criminal justice agencies on individuals consisting of arrests, prosecution, a final disposition, correctional supervision, and release. All felony and serious misdemeanor arrests (referred to as reportable arrests) including offender registration information as defined under 589.400, RSMo. and all alcohol and drug related traffic offenses are reportable to the MCRR.

Criminal history records are designated as open or closed.

- Open records
  - 1. arrest record for 30 days following arrest.
  - 2. arrest record for which charges have been filed.
  - 3. court disposition of guilty.
  - 4. suspended imposition of sentence during probation period.
- Closed records
  - 1. arrest record after 30 days following arrest.
  - 2. nolle prossed.
  - 3. dismissed.
  - 4. found not guilty.
  - 5. suspended imposition of sentence after probation completed.
- Closed records are accessible to certain groups designated in section 610.120, RSMo.
  - •MCRR will only release closed records to those noncriminal justice entities entitled to closed records, when the criminal record check is based on a fingerprint search which will assure the identity of the subject in question.
  - •Any person can receive their own record, open and closed, by submission of fingerprints and required fee.

Any requester may receive open record information.

Closed records are accessible by the following, in accordance with 610.120 RSMo, with the submission of fingerprints and required fee.

## FBI Record requests

- •The FBI files are open to criminal justice agencies for the administration of criminal justice.
- •The FBI has only open files in that if someone has the authority to receive the records, they receive all that is on file.
- •The FBI allows access to their files to noncriminal justice agencies for certain purposes for a fee.
  - •The purpose for the record check must be set forth in the federal regulations.
  - •The state, from which the noncriminal justice request originates, must have a state statute specifying the entity has state authority to check the FBI files for the purpose specified.
  - •Fingerprints must be submitted before the FBI will release their files to a noncriminal justice entity.
  - •The result of the federal record search must terminate at a governmental agency and is not to be released to a private entity.
- •All requests into the federal file from the state entities must come through and be stamped by MCRR.
- •Federal record checks for noncriminal justice entities are \$24.00 for licensing or employment checks and \$18.00 for volunteers to those covered care facilities.

**PENALTY** - A person who knowingly violates any provision of section 610.100, 610.105, 610.106, or 610.120 is guilty of a class A misdemeanor.